Education Requirements

Requirements for becoming a Realtor® and continuing your education.

I want to become a Realtor®

Take the first steps to start your career as a Realtor®.

Learn more

I am a Salesperson

Renewing your license with classes at FAAR.

Learn more

I am a New Agent

Your post-license education starts here.

Learn more

I am a Broker

FAAR offers Continuing Education for Brokers.

Learn more

I want to become a Realtor®

Virginia State Licensing Requirements for Agents and Brokers

The first step in starting your career in real estate in Virginia is obtaining a license. Below are some quick facts about the requirements to obtain and renew a Virginia State Real Estate License.

  • The requirements for a real estate salesperson license in Virginia include being at least 18 years of age and having successfully completed 60 hours of approved real estate courses, plus passing the State and National portions of the salesperson examination.
  • All real estate agent applicants need to apply for their license within one year of passing the examinations, or re-examination will be required.
  • The application fee for a real estate salesperson the application fee is $170.00.
  • All reciprocity applicants are required to take the Virginia state portion of the real estate exams before they can practice real estate in Virginia. The examination is handled by the PSI Examination Service. Salesperson applicants need to provide proof that they have been actively engaged for at least 40 hours per week as a real estate licensee during 12 of the preceding 36 months, or provide proof of having successfully completed at least 60 hours of approved real estate courses. Real estate broker applicants need to provide proof that they have been actively engaged for at least 40 hours per week as a real estate licensee during 36 of the preceding 48 months.

Online Pre-Licensing

Earn your VA Real estate license with the 60-hour Virginia Principles and Practices of Real Estate for Salespersons Course.

Learn more

Join FAAR

Benefit from FAAR’s resources to deliver professional and ethical service.

Learn more

I am a New Agent

Post Licensure for New Agents

Section 54.1-2105.01 of the Code of Virginia requires all active new salesperson licensees to complete a Board-approved 30-hour post-license education (PLE) curriculum within one year of obtaining their salesperson licenses (in order to remain on active status). The 30-hour PLE program consists of eight courses:

  • Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights (2 hours)
  • Real Estate Law and Regulations (8 hours)
  • Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
  • Current Industry Issues and Trends (2 hours)
  • Agency Law (3 hours)
  • Contract Writing (6 hours)
  • Risk Management (3 hours)
  • Escrow Requirements (3 hours)

New salespersons may complete the eight courses and 30 hours among different Board-approved education providers. As of January 1, 2014, there is only one approved post-license education curriculum (without practice “tracks”) that covers course topics as noted above.

Register for Classes

Get the real classroom experience – find and register for in-person courses held at FAAR’s Headquarters.

Learn more

Online Post-Licensing

The Post-Licensing package meets all of the requirements for Salespersons renewing within one year of obtaining their license.

Learn more

I am a Salesperson

Salesperson Continuing Education

Salespersons must complete 16 hours of CE to renew their License(s).

  • Mandatory Topics – 8 hours:
  • Agency (1 hour)
  • Ethics (3 hours)
  • Fair Housing (2 hours)
  • Legal Updates with Flood Instruction (1 hour)
  • Contracts (1 hour)
  • Elective Topics – 8 hours

For additional information on licensing requirements, contact DPOR.

Register for Classes

Get the real classroom experience – find and register for in-person courses held at FAAR’s Headquarters.

Learn more

Online Continuing Education

The CE package meets all of the requirements for active Sales license renewals in their second or subsequent renewal cycle.

Learn more

I am a Broker

Broker Continuing Education

Brokers must complete 24 hours of CE to renew their License(s).

  • Mandatory Topics – 16 hours:
  • Broker Management & Agent Supervision (8 hours)
  • Agency (1 hour)
  • Ethics (3 hours)
  • Fair Housing (2 hours)
  • Legal Updates with Flood Instruction (1 hour)
  • Contracts (1 hour)
  • Elective Topics – 8 hours

For additional information on licensing requirements, contact DPOR.

Register for Classes

Get the real classroom experience – find and register for in-person courses held at FAAR’s Headquarters.

Learn more

Online Continuing Education

The CE package for Brokers meets all of the requirements for active Broker licensees.

Learn more