Committees

Get involved – join a FAAR committee that appeals to you.

Joining a FAAR committee is a great way to get involved with the Association and network with fellow agents.  FAAR has a multitude of options that appeal to every discipline within real estate and builds on the many talents of our members.

Committees


Education/Professional Development Committee

Coordinates education programs for FAAR including trending topics, designation courses and continuing education offerings. Policy maker for the FAAR Academy. Seeks instructors and facilitators from the membership. Group meets monthly.

Chair: Michele Freemyers, mfreemyers@ekkotitle.com

Vice Chair: Chip Taylor, connectwithchip@gmail.com

Staff Contact: Barbara Castillo, bcastillo@faarmembers.com

Public Policy/RPAC Committee
Monitors issues affecting home ownership and the real estate industry. Establishes relationships with area legislators. The RPAC sub group raises the awareness of the importance of RPAC and spearheads fundraising activities. Meets monthly.

Chair: Karin Haid, karin.whitley@baycountysettlements.com
Vice Chair: Robert Cooper, buywithrobert@gmail.com
Staff Contact: Kim McClellan, kmcclellan@faarmembers.com

Events Committee

Composed of REALTOR® and affiliate members, who plan, organize and execute FAAR social events. The events create a networking opportunity within the Realtor® community.

Chair: Sha Williams-Hinnant, realtorsha@gmail.com

Vice Chair: Barry Moore, b.moore@alcovamortgage.com

Staff Contact: Julie Carriger, jcarriger@faarmembers.com

Community Service Committee

Represents Realtors® through performing good works for the community. For example, making dinners at the Homeless Shelter, sponsoring a tour house in the annual Fredericksburg Candlelight Tour, Secret Santa Christmas gift giving, working on Habitat for Humanity fundraising events. Meets monthly.

Co-Chair: Stephanie Lyles, Stephanie.Lyles@nswcfcu.org

Co-Chair: Alexis Thomas, Alexis.Thomas@vacu.org

Vice Chair: Vassa Olson, olsonvassa@gmail.com

Staff Contact: Barbara Castillo, bcastillo@faarmembers.com

Awards Committee
Establishes awards criteria and reviews applications. The program of awards recognizes a member’s professionalism, association and community involvement and encourages members to become active in FAAR. Meets twice a year.

Chair: Bonnie Ramey, bonnierameysellshomes@gmail.com
Vice Chair: Corey Green, Corey.green@c21bre.com
Staff Contact: Pat Breme, pbreme@faarmembers.com

Communication and Technology Committee
Monitors FAAR’s web site, faarmembers.com, for usability, effectiveness and content excellence. This group oversees the association’s Communication Plan and reviews new technology products. Advises FAAR staff on technology upgrades to the office. Meets monthly.

Chair: Sarah Stelmok, sarah@nestrealty.com
Vice Chair: Clay Murray, cmurray@cbeva.com
Staff Contact: Lauren Zuza, lzuza@faarmembers.com

Governance


Grievance Committee
Grievance reviews ethics complaints and requests for arbitration from agents and the public and determines whether they merit a hearing. The group also administers the Citation System. Membership requires an annual training session and three years’ experience as an agent. Caseload dictates meetings. Training to be a mediator is available.

Chair: Dave Moberly, davemoberly@aol.com
Vice Chair: Cindy LeBrun, cindysellsva@gmail.com
Staff Contact: Pat Breme, pbreme@faarmembers.com

Professional Standards Committee
Panels of Professional Standards members hold hearings to determine whether violations of the Code of Ethics have occurred or to resolve procuring cause issues. Membership requires an annual training session and three years’ experience as an agent. Caseload dictates meetings. Training to be an ombudsman is available.

Chair: Lynn Lenahan, getwithlynn@gmail.com
Vice Chair: Alex Long, along@ccim.net
Staff Contact: Pat Breme, pbreme@faarmembers.com

Budget & Finance Committee
Meets 2-3 times a year to formulate the annual association budget and to address financial issues. The Committee reviews FAAR investments to make recommendations to the BOD for enhancement of the portfolio. Composed of the Executive Committee or by appointment.

Chair: Drew Fristoe, dfristoe@coldwellbankerelite.com
Staff Contact: Linda Alsop, lalsop@faarmembers.com

Nominations Committee
Interviews potential candidates for Board of Directors positions. Membership dictated by the Bylaws.

Chair: Christine Singhass, housingopps@gmail.com
Vice Chair: Kevin McGrath, fredva@lnf.com
Staff Contact: Pat Breme, pbreme@faarmembers.com

Leadership Development
Leadership Development Seeks out potential leaders. Evaluates BOD performance.

Staff Contact: Pat Breme, pbreme@faarmembers.com

Fredericksburg Realtors® Foundation

Provides grants to local charitable organizations whose clients struggle with hardships that threaten their ability to secure and retain shelter. The Board of Directors appoints the nine Governors for a three-year term. Membership is encouraged to apply when positions become vacant. The Foundation’s mission is to assist local housing related area agencies and programs. Meets monthly.

Chair: Mary Beth Rich, marybethrichrealtor@gmail.com

Vice Chair: Cindy LeBrun, cindysellsva@gmail.com

Secretary: Tracy Miller  tlmgrouprealty@gmail.com

Staff Contact: Kim McClellan, kmcclellan@faarmembers.com

Task Forces


Young Professionals Network

Works to promote professional relationships among young real estate professionals or those new to real estate and to support the Realtor® community now and in the future. Facilitates exchange of ideas in a social setting; offers educational opportunities. Assists FAAR to identify and engage future leaders. Serves the community through volunteer work to enhance the Realtor® visibility and image. Meets monthly.

Chair: Laura Monaghan, laura@GTRhomes.com

Vice Chair: Tiffany Prine, t.prine@yahoo.com

Staff Contact: Lori Hillard-Wehr, lhillardwehr@faarmembers.com

Managing Broker Network

Supports the Realtor® broker community through sharing industry resources and networking. Facilitates exchange of ideas in a social setting; offers educational opportunities. Meets monthly.

Chair: Janet Holt, Janet@holtforhomes.com 

Staff Contact: Barbara Castillo, bcastillo@faarmembers.com

Property Management Working Group
Focuses on agents who do property management/leasing. Alternates meeting format with round table discussions and educational presentations. Meets every other month.

Chair: Frances Heatherman, frances@heathermanhomes.com
Staff Contact: kmcclellan@faarmembers.com

Commercial Group
Currently, in the building stages.

Staff Contact: Barbara Castillo, bcastillo@faarmerbrs.com

External Groups


Meetup
Meets monthly for networking, sharing and fun.

Chair: Chip Taylor, connectwithchip@gmail.com

Women’s Council of Realtors®

Meets monthly to network and provide educational information.

Chair: Michelle Thompson, mthompson@ctirealestate.com